• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

HP D44 narrowed or different rim backspacing?

tonofclay2

NAXJA Forum User
After wheeling my XJ with 33's that have lots of tread left, I got the bigger tire fever. Which then leads to axle strength, which then leads to a front D44 conversion.

I have read all the articles about doing the ole' switheroo, narrowing it, welding.....etc etc. BUT if I'm not mistaken couldn't you just change the CA mounts and get a rim with more backspacing?

I have NO experience with more than XJ axles, so please correct me!

IMO, if you have a wider axle why narrow it? Get another one to match for the front/rear and then you get a wider foot print, and lower your COG.

How big of tire are you trying to go?

If you want big tires 36+ and have a heavy right foot the 44 wont last. Might as well polish the D30. I build a HP D44, narrowed to Waggy width, cromo shafts, ARB, Hi steer, etc and wish I had gone and installed a stock Dana 60 or saved my lunch money and raped the couch for a 609.

To answer your question, you could get a wider axle and run deep back spacing but this will stick your hubs out beyond the outside of the rim/tire which will lead you to smacking them on the world. I have 15x10 rims with 4" of backspacing and 35x12.50s and still manage to nick up my hubs and they are recessed about an inch or so from the outside of the rim/tire.

AARON

I can vouch for smashing hubs... a friend of mine ran 60s with H1 wheels for quite a while, and it certainly took a toll on his poor Warns....

IMO, if you have a wider axle why narrow it? Get another one to match for the front/rear and then you get a wider foot print, and lower your COG.

How big of tire are you trying to go?