• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

14bolt in an XJ? Yay or Nay?

Stallacrew

NAXJA Forum User
OK, take this question as if you are talking to a retarded 12 year old girl who doesnt know what a rearend is.

A friend of mine has a few 14bolts from a military auction. They are from the '70's and were never installed, they are still in crates with the yellow paint on the gears. They have a detroit locker (which I couldn't tell you the difference between a detroit and any other locker ) and 4.56 gears. I can get one pretty cheap.

Would you run it? What would be the advantage/disadvantage with that option? Would I have clearance issues?

I don't do too much offroading YET since I'm a college student and have limited funding. But a deal like this might be adventageous for the future. It's geared a little deep for me right now on a stock sized XJ.

I know one of you fellas argued with another guy about 14bolts vs. 60's on Pirate and claims 14bolts suck. I just wanted to hear from other people and see.

Anything to do to it if I do get the thing?

--Alex

depends on how much cheap is. You will want to shave the bottom, and it is still pretty heavy, also gonna be wideer than stock by a good bit. Either need custom axles or new wheels. Personally I chose a 9" to start building.

5x4.5 Dana 30 front + 8x6.5 14 bolt rear = best rig evar.

:roflmao::laugh2::yelclap:

sorry, just had to use some different icons for a change.

if you can get a hellofa deal on it, do it and go find a d60 for the front and then put a 6.5" Long arm kit on it, a SYE, 1 ton OTK steering, armor and some 37" tires and you sir, will have a nice wheeling rig. You ALSO will have NO $$ left over, haha