• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Why not to use chinese HID's??

xcm

NAXJA Forum User
So my HID's have been acting kinda funky lately, sometimes when i turn them on it'll sputter. like flash really fast for 2-4 seconds, then stay off.
well i notice my wiring keeps arcing over to my bumper, THRU the insulation on the wire, which remains undamaged by this.
can anyone tell me why this is happening/how to fix?

the lights are chinese converted hella500's. xentech i beleive(if it matters)

the harness the hid's run off is a hella harness, piggybacking a h4 conv harness i made via go-jeep, both grounding to the battery. is there a way to check grounds with a multimeter? im no electrician

The arcing occurs after the ballast box, any special care need to be taken here? isnt post-ballast box voltage higher? . the wire does kinda look cheap, but its connected to the ballast w/ connectors, i will look and see if i can go around the connectors or get new ones.

Well if your just using 12V automotive wire thats why,You should probably be using wire rated for 1KV.

past the ballast i am using the wire that came with the HID's.
or do i need that high voltage wiring all the way from the source to the lights?
what about grounds, do those need to be ultra high flow as well?

everything does, HID's pull an incredible amount of amps vs. halogen or stock. to check your grounds use the ohm's function, it should be very very low, I can't think off the top of my head what the acceptable range is. Also check the wire that came with it. There was a good article in JP mag about 6-9 months ago involving what to look for in wire. The insulaion should be on the thin side with lots and lots of strands. Good wire is worth the extra money.