• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what oil is best

fatotto

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 2000 4.0 what oil type is best to use.I only changed it once and its do for another. I put in 5w-30 still running with 120,000miles. I live in CT.

Hey welcome to naxja.. Good luck with the search.. Look in your area for xj owners.. They will be more helpful than the first guy was here... Sorry i couldn't help you...1yr an you give him chit on his second post.. Dam your good

Even worse,the OP has been here even longer!Ive been running Amsoils for over 35 years,cant go wrong there!

Regardless of what everyone will tell you there is no perfect oil! It all depends on your vehicle, your climate, your operating conditions! Overall I would sway you from Synthetics because it could break down the deposits that are holding your seals together. Some people have luck with it, it caused me to have to fix the RMS on my old Ranger that only had 91k on it and never even considered leaking oil!

That being said
For my DD I run Valvoline High-Mileage(I have 141k on it) 5W-30
For my Trail-Rig/Backup DD I run Shell Rotella 15w-40(274k on it)

Anything but pennzoil oil and a fram filter

I stick with 10w30. I have learned over the years that the brand of oil you run in these motors is less important than the frequency of the oil changes. Ill run anything from havoline to mobil1 depending on what is on sale. I always run a quality filter (Napa Gold, or Mobil1)

Shell Rotella T 10w-30, Wal-Mart sells it for $10.50 gallon. Buy 3 Gallons and you have 2 oil changes!

For filters I always run either of these;

NAPA gold
Purolator pure one
WIX

Shell Rotella T 10w-30, Wal-Mart sells it for $10.50 gallon. Buy 3 Gallons and you have 2 oil changes!

For filters I always run either of these;

NAPA gold
Purolator pure one
WIX