• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I think my '98 Limited has reached its lift limit

codyyy

NAXJA Forum User
I'm trying to figure out what to do from here. I have a '98 XJ Limited with the 242 tcase, D35 w/ ABS, 3.55 gears. It is sitting at about 4.5" of lift and I believe the driveline is pretty much maxed out. I have a 4 degree shim in there, I was told the pinion angle is perfect. No t-case drop. My question is, can I lift this Jeep any higher and get away with just a t-case drop without screwing up the pinion angle more? I'm talking 1-2" more lift max. Like a shackle in the rear. Thanks.

Older transfer cases with the big tail-cone don't have as many problems with vibes so it's possible. Nobody can guarantee you anything.

edit--doh I saw '88 not '98, everyone below is correct

Last edited:
honestly going any higher u are going to want a SYE and extended driveshaft because you are going to need more slip in the rear so your driveshaft doesnt fall out - just my opinion and it will eliminate any silly vibes and you will have a peace of mind

The only kit I know of is the Tom Woods kit, which is too much money for me. I get vibes when I let off the gas on the freeway, or when I'm about at 30-35 mph but it isn't bad. I'm still searching for more options on how to fix the problem.

And I noticed the driveshaft sticks out about an inch or so more than it did when stock (the wear mark from the stock location was about an inch out).

That's nice, what driveshaft do I need? That works out good for me, a lot cheaper than I thought. RE used to have the same one but I think now they just said it works only for the 231.

the Go-Jeep method doesn't work as well on the post 96 tcases or so I have read, the yoke ends up being way out on the end of the tcase...just like the hack and tap