• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

break upgrade

swany

NAXJA Forum User
ok i am running 33" tsl's with a 4.5 inch lift. my stoping power has not been the same since. is there a break upgrade for these(94 xj) or some suttable sub?

There are proportioning valve tricks, different power boosters, and of course, the inevitable rear disk upgrade. Other than those things, you kind of have to re-learn how your vehicle brakes. TSL's aren't exactly a good road tire either. They don't help the situation on the road.

oh i was thinking that there would be like a bigger disk and caliper kit or something. i am really new to the breaks with big tires so could you please tell me more about the valve trick or where i could find more info about your suggestions thanks

I too would like some "valve" info. The wifes XJis more than a bit short in the brake department with only 33"tires. Swapping a 9" and 44 up front is not an option for this, nor would it make these brakes work any better.

swany said:
ok i am running 33" tsl's with a 4.5 inch lift. my stoping power has not been the same since. is there a break upgrade for these(94 xj) or some suttable sub?
For "you" it sounds like the best idea would be to get some smaller tires thus negating the need for more "stopping" power from the "brake" system and eliminate "substituting" any parts!
:roflmao:

yeah, P-tires (not LT) are lighter, lose tire weight=better brakes. though, someody else might be able to confim that a d44 swp costs less then a fresh set.

Bob Myers said:
I too would like some "valve" info. The wifes XJis more than a bit short in the brake department with only 33"tires. Swapping a 9" and 44 up front is not an option for this, nor would it make these brakes work any better.