• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Renix vs HO

boot2thehead

NAXJA Forum User
Quick quesiton, maybe not such a quick answer...

I'm lookign at an 89 project to replace my 96 project that litterly did not get off the ground.

In deciding what to keep from the 96 before it goes off to the bone yard I'm debating on whether or not to grab the 4L HO and the computer. Both the Renix and HO have quite a few miles (300K on the Renix) so either would need a rebuild before too long I assume.

I know there are fans of both engines but what specifically do people like and dislike between the two?

I understand that the computer is one of the main differences but much of my background is related to 60's and 70's Buicks, no computer to worry about back then it either ran or didn't. If it didn't you checked fuel and spark...

Eh, the difference goes far beyond that. The entire computer/fuel delivery/ignition system is different. Renix has a better torque curve, and is slightly more reliable while harder to troubleshoot.

HO has more horsepower, but its power is at a little higher RPM, easy to troubleshoot but nto quite as reliable.

Renix gets better gas mileage.

Don't try and "upgrade" a renix rig to HO stuff, its not worth your trouble.

cal said:
Don't try and "upgrade" a renix rig to HO stuff, its not worth your trouble.

True in certain ways...

Dont try to swap out the RENIX computer with the one from your HO. However, the intake, exhaust, and head would be good things to swap over. Use all RENIX sensors (the TPS will have to be modified, or an adapter purchased). That would be good for a good performance increase.