• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

oil starvation

jerseyjeep01

NAXJA Forum User
Someone brought a good point to my attention today. "Sitting up on those steep hills like that is gonna starve your motor for oil!" I never thought of it and wanted to see everyone input on this. Are these 4.0's known for this? Has anyone ever heard such a thing? I'm no expert on engine design by any means, but it does kind of make sense if all the oil is on one side of the pan. I know I've sat on some steep angles at an idle for a few minuets at a time, but never thought about it causing oil starvation? Is it possible? :scared:

Last edited:
only if your on your roof. The sump of the pan is at the rear and the design is that even if your nose down and have some traction you should be ok. Not like my old sport bike where you pull up the front wheel and you blow the motor. Just saying.

its possible but if you have a full crankcase there should always be enough in there to cover the pickup.. the only real exception would be if you were pointed down a steep angle and stayed there for a long time.. the pan isnt wide enough to starve on a sidehill and if you point ur nose up in the air the worst might be your #6 cylinder sucks a little oil and puffs smoke for a few minutes.

It's possible, but not common. If you have an oil pressure gauge you'll know if you're starving for oil, though because the gauge is a bit slow to react you may hear it at about the same time. If you keep your oil level up, it shouldn't starve. If you let the oil go more than two quarts low you can get momentary starvation on hard corners.