• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

newbie with questions

hombremosqa

NAXJA Forum User
ok, so im new to jeeps, and i just purchased one a few months back. an 88 cherokee laredo. i have already had some problems with it, but it hasnt had to be towed just yet. i have a trip coming up in october, and before then, i want to fix the latest problem im having before i get stuck in the middle of nowhere.
like i said, this is my first jeep. i have heard lots of good and bad things about jeeps. like mileage for instance, supposedly bad, but im pulling around 22 MPG highway out here in utah. maintenance, yeah that one's been a bit tricky. its a bit crowded under there. it took me a week of struggling, busted knuckles, fits of anger, a sprained ankle, and about 100 bucks to change the rear main seal.

ok sorry off to my point. the latest problem or at least i think its a problem in development, has been occuring since janurary. i hear a clicking sound from the undercarriage. it almost sounds like the u-joints from the driveshaft, but im thinking more likely that its from the front axles. any ideas on how to find out for sure? and what can i expect this to set me back?

it does. sorry i forgot to mention that. also, i have checked for wheel bearing failure using the 12/6 method and its nice and tight. both front brake calipers are secured. brake pads are in good shape and wearing evenly. there is no clicking when i rotate the wheels though. this is why i am scratching my head. the u joints on the shafts are greased. i think i even greased the front u joints. i think......

oh and before i forget...........or maybe i should post a new thread.......