• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stereo ignition wire voltage

gba88

NAXJA Forum User
Anyone have an idea of why my ignition wire in the stereo harness is 10.7v with the ignition off? This is the violet/white wire.

Also, the Light blue/red wire (illumination wire I think..) has the same behavior.... about 10.xxV with ignition off and then they both go up to 12.xxV when the ignition is turned on. I've never worked on a car before where the radio ignition wire had voltage in it until the ignition was switched on.

This is a 96 btw. I really don't think this is "normal", so I'm open to any troubleshooting suggestions. Thanks!

Most modern radios require some sort of constant voltage to maintain things like the clock and any preprogrammed settings (station selections, EQ settings, antitheft devices, etc)....the radio has a memory much like a computer and needs a constant power source to keep it alive. So having a lead or two running to the radio carrying power even with the ignition off is not abnormal. As far as your situation, it sounds to me like you are reading near battery voltage on these leads....which you should... and if your reading is just a hair under 11v, then maybe your battery is on the way out....or you could have some high resistance (voltage drop) due to some chassis grounds that may be less than ideal. The reason it changes to 12v after the engine is running is due to the alternator and charging system providing something greater than 12v to charge the battery.

Mike
00XJ

There may be a diode inside the radio between the ignition and the always-on wire. Or pair of diodes in series, looking at the voltage drop. This lets the ignition feed the other parts of the radio such as the memory and lights without having to hook those up?