• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Deer Hunting

juryrigjalopy

NAXJA Forum User
Any Tips for a newbie?

I have mastered the art of killing fish and want to move onto the terrestrial hunt. My roomate is from Redding so we are leaning towards NorCal (B1 area east of Covelo). I have a left hand bolt action .270 Weatherby Magnum with scope that I will be using (needs serviced, any suggestions?). I have limited experience with guns but not with big game hunting.

Cheers,
KG

FordGuy said:
Just don't kill it unless you are going to eat it! gutting a dear is like gutting a person!

I would never gut and eat a "dear" but maybe a deer. Anyways, of course I'm going to eat the deer, that's the whole reason I would kill anything. And when was the last time you gutted a person?...kinda scary man.

OK, my bad, typing while working! they say that gutting a deer "deer" is the closest thing to what a human looks like, intestines and stuff. Hey don't worry, I am not the hunter type, but do love Venison, Elk a lot. I said that because of how many deer are shot around here and just left to rot, sucks.

Last edited:
I don't hunt with guns I am an archery guy, but lots of nice deer in that area!

Rich you are correct! It is like gutting a human!

Just don't hit the piss sack!!!!

Are you going after Deer, or larger? Don't they use like a 223 or something around that caliber for Deer and the 270-308 for Elk and large stuff?

all i can tell you is kill it fast, try to hit the heart. the longer it takes to die the worse it will taste. adrenalin really sours the meat.

FordGuy said:
Are you going after Deer, or larger? Don't they use like a 223 or something around that caliber for Deer and the 270-308 for Elk and large stuff?