• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

OK Uncle, I need to improve mileage or sell the Jeep.

Angus

NAXJA Forum User
After much thought and many dollars for gas I need to do something. I don't want to sell the XJ but I need to improve the mileage. I've got a 4.0, AW4, 4.11 gears, 32x11.50 BFG AT's and 5" of lift. I started lifting from day one, 2000, and do not know what my mileage should be. I do know that currently it gets 12-14mpg depending on if I turn it off at every stop light and do not drive over 60. I cannot lower it to stock since I have a WJ converted front end and steering, but I can go to 2". With the 4.11's, 30" or 31" street type tires and 2" lift what mpg might be possible? Just thinking out load while crying.

Angus

I hate to be "That guy", but this has been covered over and over again.

The usual questions turn up:
Are you accounting for the different gears and tires?
Manual or automatic?
4WD or 2WD?
Mostly City, or Hwy use?
What weight oil are you using? Engine? Axles?
What kind of Fuel are you using?
What pressures are you running you tires at?

How do you drive:
Are you aggressive, or do you relax and let traffic do it's thing? How do you come off lights?

I think the 4:11's are too deep for 32's, but that's a gut feeling. For the best Hwy miles, since you have an engine that has bottom end torque, you want to take advantage of that. Did you change your Speedo gear, or calculate a factor for your tires/gears?

Auto's generally get a tad less gas mileage than a Manual.

Extensive City use tends to drag down the MPG figures.

Heavy, high viscosity oils have more drag than low viscosity oils. 5-30W for regular oil, or even lower if Synthetic are EPA "gas saving" oils.

Running low pressures on the street is a sure fire way of getting low mileage.