• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Where to begin?

Willie

NAXJA Forum User
Hello all, I'm new to XJ's and new here.

After much thinking, I decided that I wanted to buy an older XJ to use as a hunting/camping/dog-toting rig, so I looked around for a while until I found
this one

According to the title, it's a 1990 Jeep Cherokee . It's a 2 door, 5-speed manual 4X4. VIN 1J4FJ27L5LL231931. It's got 175K miles on it.

Apart from being filthy and having some dents and dings here and there, it seems pretty solid. I know it needs some alignment hygiene and the A/C needs to be looked at, but it starts right up and the transmission doesn't make any disturbing noises.

Cosmetics being a second priority to mechanical dependability, what should I have checked out? What should I be concerned about?

I'm going to get some new seats and replace that dash and steering wheel, eventually, but my main concern at this point is to have a reliable 4X4 that can handle some dirt-road driving in the backcountry. We have some pretty scary dirt roads here in Idaho. I'll get to the more extreme 4X4'ing later on.

Check your floors first thing, they rust out quite often...

My repair article. http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=954332 Hopefully your floors don't look any worse than mine...

Just pull up the carpet once the seats are out.....

Check your coolant pressure bottle for crack and pinholes, these are easily obtained thru a $tealer or thru the aftermarket parts houses.

Wouldn't be a bad idea to drain and refill ALL of the fluids if they haven't been done recently.

I am sure the guys here will have more to add.....

poorboy_616 said:
Check your floors first thing, they rust out quite often...