• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Factory Roof Rack Questions

Para069

NAXJA Forum User
Hello everyone,
I am new to the board and need advice on installing a factory roof rack.

I am not very good at working on vehicles and have never punched a hole in one :)

Having found on Ebay a New OEM rack with all the hardware and also a used rack w/ the side rails and crossovers , but no hardware.
The used one is much cheaper.

My questions are
Is the "hardware" (screws,etc) to install a used rack to be found at a parts store or "Lowes" type store? Would they be just regular SS self-tapping type screws?

Does my Jeep (99 XJ , 2D, 4WD) have a double walled roof or do I have to remove the headliner?

How about waterproofing the screw holes?

Thanks for all help.
Para069

Is there a reason why you want to go this route as opposed to getting a Thule/Yakima Gutter Mount type system? Much better than the OEM and you can carry more weight up there.

Plus, no drilling necessary.

If price is an issue go with a surco roof rack and gutter mounts, if price is not an issue go with thule or ARB safari rack. Warrior also makes a nice one. For the surco go check the prices, summitracing.com seems to have the best overall and fast shipping too.

I was not wanting to get a "Safari" or basket type rack because of the wind noise issues I have read about.

I looked at a Thule rack w/ a gutter mount and liked it , but was just going to go w/ a factory rack because it was much cheaper and did not have to worry about it being stolen off the vehicle when I park it at a trailhead for a few days.

How about the drilling issue on my Jeep? Is the roof double walled?

Thanks for the quick replys and help.