• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Northwest Newbie

mrpopo573

NAXJA Forum User
Aloha Guys!

I am new to Naxja, and very excited to have a resource and community so filled with knowledge. I just wanted to ask a basic question of about some parks/areas that I'm sure most of you have spent some time in.

I am trying to get together a list of a few areas that are stock-ish XJ friendly, as my mods are slow coming but I would still like to get out on some trails. Preferably areas on the west side of the cascades, but I'm open to anything. It would be great to take a few friends and head out on a trail that I could camp at after a few miles of 4x4ing.

Tahuya was great, but I have only run about a quarter of it. It got dark and I had to find an exit, which was a fun adventure. I just wanted to see what else was out there. I appreciate any and all information.

My Jeep is a 1999 Auto with just an Intake and some new decent all terrains.

Thanks!

Welcome to the NW! What part of Maui are you from? (Beautiful island).

Tahuya is probably the best place to start (entirely stock XJ friendly and relatively safe).

1. Walker Valley ORV is probably the next most reasonable with a stock XJ. Much more likelyhood for damage but doable with the right driver.
2. Reiter Trails (past Sulton on Hwy2) would be my next bet, some parts are doable with a stock XJ and there are plenty of areas to play/learn what you XJ is capable of without too much concern of damage.
3. Evan's Creek ORV would be very difficult in a stock XJ but you could stick to the main trails and enjoy some miles.