• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

240 amp alternator

yamafreek

NAXJA Forum User
I found a company(nations) that has a 240 amp alternator available for the XJ. Anyone have any expirience with them? Seems on the high side as far as "stock" type/size alternators. May order one soon.

The real question is the true hot rated amp output. I hope that this 240-260 can do a honest 200+ hot. I guess time will tell.
BTW there was no link to the alternator as the site does not list it.

I had my stock altinator re-built by a local altinator place.
If my memory serves me correctly he stated that he could go to 180 amp's with this small case, and he also added a smaller pulley.
I have been useing this for several years with no issues and I think I paid just a tad over $100. I would suspect that anything advertised over ~180amps is a stretch considering trying to remove any additional heat would be an issue.

Michael

Got a link to the outfit? I want to make sure I find the same page you do...

So far, the highest output I'd heard of was 200A (Mean Green, possibly Powerman,) so I'd like to know more about the 240A units. I'm sure that will deterioirate slightly when hot, and I'd like to see the output curve on that as well, but I'm quite curious.

You will need to upgrade your wiring and alternator output fuse to take full advantage of the thing, and I do not suggest simply eliminating the output fuse/fusible link entirely. I don't know enough about the history of this outfit to even tangentially recommend something like that, and a surge from that sort of unit is likely to blow every solid state device in your rig more complex than a simple diode. Ouch...

what in the heck do you need to power that would take that kind of amperage?I have ran 9000lbs winches all day with a 90 amp unit.

whalebus said: