• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Best way to repair stress crack in frame?

bcmaxx

NAXJA Forum User
I have two small cracks in the end of my framerails where the hitch bolts on. (the PO must have had a big trailer or something,it was setup for trailer brakes and 7 pin wiring) It must be a cheaper hitch because it only mounts with two bolts, I have a new one that is longer and mounts with four bolts. I just want to stop the cracks before they become a problem.Thanks

i would grind them out and weld them up. then weld plates over them for extra support. im no expert but thats how id do it.

tigerShark said:
i would grind them out and weld them up. then weld plates over them for extra support. im no expert but thats how id do it.
The book says to drill a hole at the end of the crack, weld up the crack and then add supporting material as necessary.

"Stop-drill" the crack - 1/16" at the each very end usually serves for sheet (larger holes for thicker sections.)

Grind a slight "gouge" along the crack. This not only makes it easier to get good penetration on the weld, but also gives you good base metal for the weld to dig into.

Weld, including the "stop-drill" holes.

Grind flat.

Typically, you'll want to make the "stop-drill" holes about the same size as the thickness of the material, but usually 1/16" is a minimum (for sheet) and you can go up to about 3/16" - maybe 1/4" - for heavier sections (castings and the like.)