• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Having some lower control arm problems

XJbigman

NAXJA Forum User
Okay I know its a common question and I have even tried searching it but I couldnt find anything. For the past two days I have been installing another two inches of lift to the already 3.5 inches I have. The rear was no problem but I am having some difficulties with the front. I bought a adj track bar that is currently installed the coil spacers are also already in there but the control arms are no lining up at all. I do not have adj ones and I know that could probably solve everything but I am a college student and I have no money. I do however have the ones that came with the lift kit which are rubicon express. Whatever i do the holes just wont line up there probably about a inch from lining up and its driving me crazy. Any advice would be extremely helpful because i cant wait to go wheeling with the extra lift.

I find it easiest to remove the trackbar, then use ratchet straps and pure muscle to line up the holes and get the arms on, then install the trackbar.

ive used a "come a long" attached to the axle and crossmember. another way that i did it was that since i was working on a slight downward incline, was to block off the front tires, put it in neutral, put foot on brake and release the ebrake. i let up on the brake pedal until the rear wheels/body pushed the control arms enough to line up the arms.

are the RE arms longer than stock? if not, stock arm length and 5.5" of lift is a bad idea unless you get drop brackets. your caster and pinion angle will be way off and the springs will be bowed. IMHO, it wouldnt be safe on the highway.

x2 on the DB's

89xj said: