• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Idea from dzol

dzolcali

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, I have seen a lot of people putting vents in their engines and things like that for cooling and then others fabricating some sorta water spouts to keep it outta the engine.

I just had a thought that, maybe you could cut a big middle section out of the hood...pretty much the whole thing, and put a screen in there or something thats more breathable...but be able to put the slab of metal back in and have it latch down securely back into the hood so thats it's water proof again.

I guess it sounds like a lot of work now that i wrote it down but it makes sense sorta, I ahve a pretty good sorta plan for how to make it although I'm not that good with the grunt work of cutting things and fabricating metal pieces and stuff.

<<subscribing early>>

lol...I made a picture let me host it real fast
260y8fd.jpg

top view of hood, and side view...poplocks on the front similar to toolboxes or things like that. A sorta hood support thingies underneath to hold it up and make it flush with the top...and then maybe after cutting it out put a rubber water seal similar to what people put on their fender flares?

Just an Idea...thats all

hrmm good idea brett....hehe
what about a removable plexi glass hood insert...cut a big hole...make a plexiglass thing that works in the center...add some class to your engine and it's water proof when it's on and vented when it's off...OOO i just thought of an even better idea for a hood...an adjustable ram air hood...OMG Ima draw it up and post it...just wait a few minutes