• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

E85 mix?

JohnnyBoy425

NAXJA Forum User
So, I've been reading on forums about an e85 kit since its so much cheaper than gas around here (about 30%) But the kits are too f'n expensive. I've read that the blend is essentially a 105 octane, so could I just mix 3/4 tank of 87 with a 1/4 tank of 105 octane E85 to achieve an octane rating of 91.5 which my ecu can handle? Call me crazy, but I think it would work, and save me some bucks in the long run... Lemme know your thoughts, I'm pretty new to this stuff.

It would work just fine, but you will run slightly leaner. The increased octane might be enough to offset the lean condition though, but it will without a doubt increase EGTs.

The big question though is: is it worth the small savings? Probubly not. Your better off getting the kit, and making a 100% change to E85. It will take a while, but the savings will pay for the kit.

well, I guess I could try it and see what happens? One tank of mix wont hurt anything will it? Thats my biggest concern, I dont need to be making any expensive repairs any time soon :p

Would an air/fuel controller do the same thing as the kit? Isn't that basically all it does, cause a e85 specific kit is 400 bucks and I can find air/fuel controllers for about 200

If an engine was truely designed to run on the much higher octane then it might be somewhat beneficial to swap over to a high ethanol blend but your typical engine won't really benefit from it (granted I am not entirely sure what the kit you are looking at includes or does).