• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4.88 and 33" tires

Smittty9785

NAXJA Forum User
just a quick question. what would be the pros and cons of running 4.88 gears with 33" tires?

I've been running that combo for 4 years now with ZERO issues.
IMO it brings your power/torque curve back to normal.

John

I'm building a rig right now with 4.56s and 31" tires. Sounds like you're right on spec. to me.

Edit: If you are planning on a lot of rocks, lower is always better, but for an all around rig, 33's and 4.88s are right in.

Really! I was thinking 33's and 4.10's put it damn near stock. I do a lot of highway driving so that's what I was gonna do. 95', AX-15, NP231

I have 33's with 4.10
skip that and atleast run 4.56 and as above if you have the 4.88 that may be good too.
4.10 is ok for crusing, but even then the engine has to work little harder on uphills, downshift to pass. 4.56 atleast would be much better, but I set up for 31's first... than got hit with inchitis.

arctycfox: You're right, 4.10 are damn close to stock.
Hell, the Rubicons roll out with 4.10s and 32"s. The only downside I could see to the 4.88s(or my 4.56s) would happen at around 75-80 on the highway.
As in you would be traveling about 62MPH when the factory speedo was at 75mph. Probably need an adjustment there.

I still say 4.88s and 33"s sound about right. I didn't mean to imply it was a stock setup.

Edit 2000xjclassic:
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=955626 Isn't this just one of Fords better ideas?

Last edited: