• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2000 Stock XJ

tcpoland

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
I am new to the Jeep family having bought my first Cherokee Sport a 2000 only about 2 months ago. Since buying it I have noticed that hitting a bump at speed (60 - 70mph) sometimes results in a shaking of the front end, I chalked this up to it being a used vehicle and didnt think much of it until two days ago on my way to work when I hit a bump on the freeway and it shook so violently I thought the wheels would fall off it did this for what probably was a full minute. Now Im scared to death driving it, until I can fix this problem, any suggestions to whats causing this would be appreciated.

had the same thing happend and the steering box bolts were really loose. as in theye were about to come undone. the steering box had a bout 4 inches of play between it and the frame. i would check that first.

I see this all the time at my shop, check all your steering components such as; Drag link, tie rod, track bar. The track bar 9 times out of ten is the problem. Check the bushing at the axel and the rod end at the frame/uni-body. I've had to replace track bars on low lift or stock jeeps before do to the fact that the upper rod end is not replaceable. After market track bars are nice because most on the market today use stock jeep parts that can be replaced at any parts house when they wear out.

as already posted check all the joints...