• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

O/T: TJ Lift Party

rpraterxj

NAXJA Forum User
Hey gang,

Looking for a few folks to help install RE 4.5" kit on Saturday, Sept. 9th. Starting around 10:00 AM'ish.

25251 Arder Court
Lake Forest, 92630

I have never worked on a TJ before, but someone told me it's just like the front of an XJ, just on both ends :) (upper & lower control arms, trac bar, coils springs, sway bar, shocks)

Should not be too hard.

I have alot of tools, but not sure if there are any special tools needed. I also have an air compressor now. Feel free to bring your own tools.

We will provide pizza for lunch. Soda and water through the day, after lift is on we can bring out the beer.....

does the TC have a SYE yet? If not and even if it did its very nice also, to just get a 1" body lift kit and either some Currie / bombproff 1" raised motor mounts. That will help your driveline a little bit. WIth 4.5" of lift and with a 1" motor lift you might be ok without a SYE for now or it may be fine all together. But without either, its not going to be very good for the rear shaft ujoints and the vibs...

You can get both for around 150 if you shop around. For the body lift you should look for a kit that comes with the radiator support snuber blocks. most dont. They are kinda easy to make and just weld in, but if you know to get a kit that has them its just that much easier.

Also, the upper CA mounts at the axle. If you didnt get new bolts with the kit, then pick up some that are slightly longer then stock. The upper U on the aftermarkets are thicker and the stock upper bolts are the Torx style. I belive that the size you want are 10mm x 85mm. Then get some nylon locking nuts for them also.