• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4x4 = 2x4? Same concept, different subject

Dustn525

NAXJA Forum User
So, I'm new to Jeeps after owning a couple of Chevy trucks. Both Chevys I've owned had LSDs, or what GM guys call "posi" traction. My Jeep's axles don't seem to switch to the other side when one side is slipping. Jeeps seem to have the rep as the flagship 4x4, so why would they build them with totally open differentials? Is it just something wrong with my rig, or I do I have to add on some aftermarket product before I hit the trails? It's a '95 Cherokee SE, AW4, NP231, and from what I've heard it has the Dana 35 rear and Dana 30 front. I'm new to Jeep wheeling. Was "posi" traction an option on these rigs? If so, what models should I swap axles from? I've searched but don't see any solid, straight foward answers. Thanks.

And no, LSD in the rear was the best that was offered from the factory in an XJ...no full lockers or anything like that.

Last edited:
JNickel101 said:
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=951222

Current thread covers a lot of what you are asking....

Yeah, well that's the thread whom's title reminded me, but confused because of all the different opinions. Basically I was wondering whether the Laredo, Pioneer, Limited, Sport, or whatever else trim level I should look for in the junk yard, for an LSD/"posi" differential. I was always under the impression that Jeep would equip their vehicles with some good stuff by default. I bet alot of you guys would say to just throw in a locker, but I have to go by the cheap for now. I'm just looking to take it through some mud and some "bouncies" (my GF calls bumpy trails that) and not get stuck over something stupid like an open diff.

Nah, the different model designations dont mean anything as far as diffs go...