• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1998 XJ 4x4 - Really 2x4?

Mudderoy

NAXJA Forum User
jeep-crunch2.jpg

Last year I had a single vehicle accident in my XJ. It was early in the morning and during a mildly severe rain storm. (tropical depression moving through).

It had been raining for hours so it wasn't a situation where the oil from the road had just been brought up from the rain.

I was driving down a toll road at about 60 mph, in full time 4x4.

I had been driving this XJ daily for the 9+ years we've owned it, and it was the safest thing I have ever driven in the rain, rock solid.

To my utter amazement things started to feel funny, like hydroplaning. I took my foot off the gas, instinct from prior years 2 wheel drive vehicles, and about 1 second later the XJ is at a 45 degree angle sliding. Less than a second later at 180 degrees, and foot now solidly applied to the brake petal, I was wondering where the 20 foot high concrete wall was, a 1/2 second later I knew where it was as the XJ slammed into it at about 270 degrees from my beginning of the out of control spin. At the 360 degree mark I slowly came to a stop, foot still mashing the brake petal.

In retrospect I thought it might have been better to apply more gas encouraging the wheels to gain traction. What I have found out recently makes me wonder if this would caused a better outcome.

Recently, from this site, I have been learning lots of things about my XJ that I didn't know.

The most disturbing thing I have found was that the Corp. 8.25 uses clutches to apply power to the two rear wheels, and that the clutches go out at about 35k miles. I had about 100k when the accident occurred. So that means only 1 rear wheel was "active" prior to the spin.