• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

front drive shaft spinning

hughmungas

NAXJA Forum User
I did a search and came up with nothing. I am new to XJs so need to ask a simple question. When in 2wd, is the front driveshaft supposed to continue to spin when driving? Mine does. I am thinking I have a automatic hub that won't unlock but am not sure. I have tried the backing up method and it didn't do anything different, but my understanding is on the XJ you are not supposed to have to do that any way. The transfer case is a standard 2hi-N-4Hi-4Lo so should not be a all wheel drive T/C.

Also I believe I have ruled out the T/C because when I turn in 2wd, it turns fine without the tires dragging or hopping etc..

thanks in advance,
hughmungas

Last edited:
It always spins. You don't have front hubs to unlock. It is being spun by the front axle shafts when in 2wd.

Welcome

Very Noob,

The hub on XJ don't disconnect. In 2wd, it disengage the front shaft in the transfer case only. So when the truck run, the shaft will be turning. Some after maket kit exist to do that but very expensive.

Couple of observations:
One, you didn't say what year, etc. You need to supply the basic stuff so people will understand the questione. The second, for example, is that certain early XJ's, such as pre-91? (for sure, pre-90), have a disconnect front axle that should only allow the front shaft to turn when in 4x drive.
So, all of the answers I saw here may or may not be correct---just depends on the year and model of your XJ.
By the way, your owner's manual should have given you the answere.