• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Replaced my Distributor and wires this weekend...

Redsnake

NAXJA Forum User
OK... I finally was able to replace my dizzy on my '96XJ this weekend. With 218K miles on her I guess it was time. I discovered when replacing the dizzy cap and rotor a couple weeks back that my rotor had a LOT of play and wobble to it. So I got an A-zone Cardone rebuilt unit and did the swap.

I've never done this procedure before so I read and read and looked at as many pics as I could. Lined up everything at TDC as best I could tell before removing the OE dizzy.

One problem I had was trying to remove the Coil Pack to get easier access to the dizzy hold down bolt. I'd like to SHOOT whoever designed the mounting location for my Coil. If the 2 thru bolts had mounted nuts/threads on the other side it wouldn't be so hard, BUT there are loose nuts on the backside up next to the engine block and it's a bit difficult to get a 10mm wrench on that backside and also the front side and work them in unison to get the stupid bolts off. Not sure whey they couldn't have mounted the coil in a bit easier access location like all other cars I've personally worked on. OK.. so I get the coil off and bet the dizzy out. WOW was it in pretty worn out shape. I'm really surprised the XJ was even running (albeit it has been running poorly for the past couple weeks... but running still the same).