• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Important BB questions....shocks, mainly

RaccoonJoe

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, go gentle with me here. I'm a total noob when it comes to suspension, (more of an engine guy, personally)

I went to put a 1.75" BB on my 89 XJ. Did the front, and wound up with a total of 33" from ground to fender flare (about 19.25" from center of rim to flare). I believe this figures out to 2.5" of lift. Can someone please confirm??

My biggest problem is that my shocks are stock size....rated for 0-2" of lift. What do I do here??

These are brand new ProComp ES1000's....They should have worked, but I ended up with a bit more lift than I was anticipating. I was thinking of using washers to space the bottom of the shock up about 1/2", and the same thing on the top of the shock. This should get me right in the middle of the shock tolerances..... for the front, anyways.

The rears are a different story. I'm not too sure what I'm going to do here yet, but was planning on using the rear sway bar brackets as home-made BPEs. This should get me about another inch of shock compression in the rear.

Let me know if I've confused anybody with this (other than myself....)

You can use a jks "bar pin eliminator" kit to gain ~3/4" or so, and there is a company that makes shock adapters that bolt in from 1" to 2", but I can't remember who it is just now..

Hopefully someone will pipe up. :)

Yeah, just stay away from Rocky Road Outfitters BPEs, unless they've changed them since I got mine, they don't fit. FWIW, I ran stock factory shocks on mine with 3" up front and 1.5" out back for a good 3yrs or so w/o any issues. YMMV

RaccoonJoe said:
Alright, go gentle with me here. I'm a total noob when it comes to suspension, (more of an engine guy, personally)