• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1990 XJ

POSJ

NAXJA Forum User
I am brand new to the Jeep thing, I just purchased my first one today for $750. And I love it already, as of now what is wrong that I have found: 1.) 4wheeldrive does not stay engaged. 2.) Rear-end does not lock up pulling one leggers, i.e. I have a 1 wheeldrive 4x4 3.) Engine takes a little to start, cranks over after about 15seconds. I love this thing to death even if it dies on me it only cost me $750 but I am really looking at turning it into an awesome trail rig with atleast a 6'' lift and 35'', with bumpers, whinches and the works. Where should I start first? As I figure the rear end needs fixing but isn't that big of deal I am going to put manuel lockers up front so the 4x4 isn't a big deal, where should I start from? I think you are the best bunch to ask this question not the guys at my shop.

Tyler

Ok let me start... welcome to the jeep world..... the transfer case poping out i have to figure that one out, and for the rear it has what you would call a open rear which means only one wheel drives and for you want to do, svae your money up and do it the right way trust me i probaly lost over a grand destroying shit because it didnt work but daont worry you dont need much money to have a good time with the jeep, I have probaly less then 3 grand raped in mine.... also for the motor, it is a old jeep engine most of them do that.....

FlatBlack1990 said:
so a new tranmsfer case and weld the rearend?:)
You don't need a new transfercase. Do you have a vacuum disconnect front axle? If so that is most likely the root of your problem. As far as welding the rear...I wouldn't do it if your going to be daily driving it, especially in the snow.