• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Where would the short be?

BuckFever

NAXJA Forum User
Okay, here's the problem. I'm a newbie XJ owner and have attempted to look at a lot of threads about this. DASH LIGHTS OUT!

Every time I hit the headlights on, I blow the #19 fuse. Now everything I've read from others say that when their lights go out, their radio is out as well. Well, my radio stays on. The only thing that goes out are the das lights. I've attempted to remove the fuse box to check behind but after unscrewing the star bolts (which don't seem to come out); I can't pull the box out to check behind it. I've disconnected the KCs as the person had the light wires running in to the fuse box; as well as the CB. So that stuff has all been disconnected. Still blowing the 19 fuse though.

As for what I have. 1995 w/ manual tranny & 4.0. Any ideas would be appreciated as most of my driving is at night (working graves). Thanks.

Well, I'm a little puzzled now. After I disconnected the lights and CB going right in to the fuse box, I ran through everything again (Turning on radio, lights, etc.) and I can't get the 19 fuse to blow. Problem now is, I still don't have dash lights :D Wonder if the bulbs blew.

you may need to check the back of the fuse block for loose connections and poor connections. my 89 with 5sp has similiar problems because of the clutch master leaking hydraulic fluid on the fuse block. the hydraulic fluid eats away plastic. i have alot of fuses that dont sit in the socket proporly bcause the plastic housing(fuse block) is falling apart.

I had a short in my dash lights, short was between the parking lamp circuit and the headlamp switch, in the 12V feed to the headlamp switch.

Mine would pop the parking lamp fuse and leave the dashboard light fuse alone.