• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Best way to fix this?

subliminal

NAXJA Forum User
Just picked up a 94 Grand Cherokee. Im not sure what this is called but on the front axle there are 2 arms connected on each side and are pointing to the rear of the car where they connect to the body. Anyways one of them is busted off. Would this be able to be welded back on? The Jeep still drives nice and doesnt pull it just makes a rattle when you step on the brakes from the arm hitting the axle. Thanks for your help.

This has got to be a joke right?

Its no joke, Im new to jeeps and 4 wheel drive vehicles in general so I dont know **** about front axles. Ive mainly worked on RWD and FWD cars in the past so this is a learning experience for me. So I apologize for being such a noob.

Last edited:
Yes it's an upper control arm. It holds the axle at angle for the driveshafts. If it was the lower you would have and axle wondering all about. Yes you can run without it, but you don't want to. You can use any upper arm off any jeep with coils not leaf springs. The upper arm front and rear on all jeeps is same. Hit a junk yard and find a cheapy replacement.

So it would be the pass side. Either have it welded back on, or get a replacement axle. The front d30 jeep axle is pretty common, make sure you get one with same gears, and a high pinion. (were the driveshaft attaches to axle. it could be high or low. you want high) I have a lift kit with long arms. The kit requires the removal of that bracket and that side arm is not use. But with stock short arms, it could cause death wabble and/or bump steer i'm sure. You'll notice it the most on braking since the axle will want to roll foward more.