• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie with a few ?'s

Sig Ep Mock

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys. Just got a 95' XJ with the 4.0L and 54k miles. I'm new to Jeeps other than a POS YJ I had in school. Here's what I've figured out so far. All stock with the NP242 (part time and full time 4wd right?), D35 rear with limited slip.

The Jeep is going to serve as a tow vehicle behind the motorhome for the family and for mild wheeling. So far I'm looking at the RE 3.5" Superflex lit with replacement spring packs. 31" tireson 15" or 16" wheels. I think I'm going to need the "hack and tap" SYE and CV driveshaft. Am I going to need shims for the rear axle and does anybody know how many degrees if I do? Any thing I'm going to need for the lift? Steering upgrades, etc...?

Also looking at front and rear Hanson Offroad bumpers, they are pricey but I really like the looks and connections to the body/frame.

I've got the Haynes manual and Eric's Jeep Cherokee XJ Builder's guide...any other good sources of info?

Thanks for the help,

Chris
jeep1.jpg

Welcome and congrats on the XJ.

I flat tow my XJ behind our 24' Class C.

Do you still have the original owners manual? I'm not sure what it takes to flat tow with the 242 t-case.

Find an original factory service manual (FSM) with what you have, the FSM and NAXJA you've got all you need.

You probably won't need the SYE with the 3.5" lift. Lift it frst then see if you have any vibes.

Check out the NAXJA supporters for a good price on a lift kit.

Welcome to NAXJA Chris...