• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Little technical difficulty here

victor_s

NAXJA Forum User
Alright so i go to start my jeep in the morning and it starts up fine, runs for about 20secons then dies. Now it feels like it wants to start and fires a bit but then sputters and dies. If i let it sit for a while it'll start up for another 20secs. What can be the problem?

Well.... we don't know what you drive, but if it's an older generation XJ that has the "fuel pump ballast resistor", I'd start by jumpering it. If the Jeep keeps running when that resisitor is jumpered, then you need a new one.
:cheers:

victor_s said:
Oh sorry , Its an 89 XJ with a 95 4.0 in it. Sorry im still new to the jeep, how would i go about jumping it?

It's located on the drivers side fender. Looks like a white ceramic block with 2 wires going to it. Just unplug the wires and put them together and see if that cures it.

Good luck!!

:cheers:

Alright so i just tryed and it didn't change anything.
But i did listen to my fuel pump some more and heres what it does.
When i first put the key in it gives it a nice long pump like its soposto.
When i go to off and then back to the on position, once again without cranking, it doesn't do anything. Maybe 2-3 more times of doing nothing then on the 4th one it will give me one short little pump. If i take the key all the way out and wait a few secs it start doing the same thing again with the long pump then nothing again. I don't know if this helps.

This smells like a fuel pump problem. Your pump should energize and run for a couple of seconds each time you turn the key to the ON position. Yours isn't doing that which makes the pump itself and associated electronics/wiring suspect.