• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

$3000 to make a wheeler...how best to spend it?

Graeme

NAXJA Forum User
I want to turn my stock 2000 into a wheeler on a budget of about 3000. I want it done right, and to be reliable. How much can I get? I am pretty new to all this...this is what I think so far, am I out to lunch?

I am thinking of a 4.5-5.5 inch lift. Which one to get...RE 4.5 or 5.5? What will a "long arm" kit do for me?

New shocks.

I need a transfer case drop kit. Slip yoke eliminator.

I want lots of armour on the bottom.

33's on steelies.

I'll need to do the gears right?

And an adjustable track bar.

What else am I missing? Can I do this for 3000??? Or can I do more?

Thanks for any input!

if your on a budget then go low and cut to fit the tires

look into a 3.5" lift with new packs

yes you will need to regear

do you know what rear you have a 35 or an 8.25?

if its a 35 than i would replace it wiht an 8.25 or an xj 44