• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cb radio install problems

desertrandy

NAXJA Forum User
I installed my new cobra cb in my 1992 Cherokee. When I hooked up the SWR meter it was pegged all the way in the red reading 10 or higher on channels 1, 20, and 40. Also I used the built in SWR meter in the cb to verify that the New meter I bought was working and it also pegged in the red.
My cb setup consists of a new cobra cb (I can't remember the model no.), a new 3ft Firestik antennae with tuneable tip, and a Firestik roof mount kit with their recommended 18 ft. coax cable. Also there is no binding in the coax. All the excess is loose laid above the headliner. Anybody know why it reads so high. I'm new to the whole cb thing and could use the help before I have to pay someone to fix it. Thanks.

I may be wrong about the number reading. But it definately pegged all the way to the right in the red zone on all channels. Both the handheld SWR meter and the built in meter in the cb itself.

The cb is wired into a constant hot in the fuse panel. As far as a ground, I have no dedicated ground wire. I assumed the roof acted as a ground. But we all know what happens when you assume.

Make shure the stinger (center conductor) isn't grounded to the roof. When I frist installed my antenna I didn't have the hole big enough, and hot part of the bracket was touching the body gounding out the antenna.

scoobyxj said:
Make shure the stinger (center conductor) isn't grounded to the roof. When I frist installed my antenna I didn't have the hole big enough, and hot part of the bracket was touching the body gounding out the antenna.