• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lifting a 2WD XJ?

funkle95

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to NAXJA and I gotta say, this site is an awesome source of info! I searched a bit, and I'm sorry if this topic has already been covered, but I couldn't find anything on lifting a 2WD XJ. I have a 95 Sport 4-door with a 4.0 and an auto trans. I was wondering if there was a possibility of driveshaft vibrations, and how I would resolve such an issue should it happen? Normally a TC drop or a SYE/CV shaft would be a great way to solve a driveline vibe, but obviously that doesn't apply with a 2WD truck. I was planning on going with a combo of parts to achieve about 2" of lift total. I have never lifted a 2WD truck before so I'm not sure what to expect. For the front I had either OME 2" springs, or a more budget friendly spacer in mind. For the rear I was planning on using Quadratec's XJ heavy duty leafs with some kind of shackle. This truck is supposed to become the family camping machine, and it will only see light off road use. I wanted the lift to allow for the fitment of slightly larger, better performing (and better looking) tires. I also plan on towing a trailer with this setup. I would appreciate any advise you guys can give me on this project. I have tried to soak up as much info as I can, just wanted to run my idea past the experts before I waste any money on anything! Thanks for your help!

I have the rubicon 5.5 on mine and i didnt need anything till i went with poly transmission mount have a small vibration now but a shim should take care of that.....