• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

painting while cold?

Ba-Riedo

has frame envy
Im fairly new to spray painting and need a few pointers so I dont screw anything up.

I bought a set of used T&T's last week and they were painted silver but much of the paint has been rubbed/ scratched off.

I would like to repaint them silver but am not sure if I should sand or just paint over the old stuff. Also its probably 45 degrees in my garage right now, would that make the paint stick funny? I was told that you shouldnt paint if its not warm out.

-Alex

How do you want the final finish?
For spray painting, I always remove all rust, grit, dirt, grime, etc and scuff the surface if it is smooth. Primer, then paint. Works well.

If I was to do what you're looking to do, I'd sand them down (with 150-180 grit or so) and shoot them with primer then paint when the temp rose a little more. If you're pressed for time, you will probably get away with 40-45 degrees, but I wouldn't paint below that.

Primer isn't required, but I always use it on bare metal surfaces before painting. Also, a good name brand paint will be much better than the $0.50 can of dept. store junk.

Im using rustoleum metallic paint, I painted my bellypan just now and it looks good so far, for the arms I need to tape off the joints and threads and will be doing those shortly.

-Alex

yeah rattle can is pretty easy to streak - make sure it is well preped with a light sand paper or scotch bright - once scuffed PRIME - it makes a world of a difference in the results on longevity of the paint...

good luck!

Generally speaking, painting below 60 degrees is not recommended for several reasons. Paint will have a tendency to run and sag if it can't tack up quickly, time between 2nd and 3rd coats must also be lengthened, to name a few.