• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How to Turbo a XJ

HotChiliRam

NAXJA Forum User
Well, my question is does anyone know how to install a turbo on a 4.6L XJ?. Recently I perform a stroker to 4.6L, the Jeep now has power and lots of torque, but I need a little more HP's at high RPM's for dune climbing. I have been thinkin to install the turbo in the passenger side but I'm not 100% sure.
I'm not an expert in this so any opinion is very welcome.

Thanks

why would u install it on the passenger side? The turbo would have to be on the drivers side because the manifold is on the side. First off u would need bigger injectors, fuel controller, custom manifold and downpipe and depending on ur strokers compression im guessing its not low compresion u would run low boost like 4psi. Plus it depends on what turbo u use. If u routed the turbo to the passenger side it would be a shit load of piping and in the end it was just create more turbo lag. Best would be off the manifold. Ur probably off going supercharger instead of turbo for cost and in depth of turbo knowledge and making ur own kit.

87manche said:
nitrous is your answer.
easy to install
use it when you absolutely need it.

I've been thinking about nitrous too. And they advertise that I can get almost 100hp without any modification.
I was thinking in installing the turbo in the passenger side because of space, I didn't want it low in the engine bay, that was the only reason.

If you go the route of nitrous be sure to put a nitro kill switch on the gas pedal. even leting off the gas before the bottle once can put a hole in a piston. It will be especially bad burning through a piston in the desert.

~Alex

pictures of NOS on an XJ or the consiquences of an inproperly tuned system?

~Alex