• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tell me about my 99 XJ

Leica99XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a XJ newbie and was wondering if the fine members of NAXJA could tell me more about my 1999 Cherokee SE 4x4. Things I need to look out for, parts that need extra care, preventive maintenance tips, must have aftermarket parts, basically stuff that owners need to know about their XJ.

I have learned a bit so far, like issues with the exhaust manifold, which thankfully doesn't look like mine is leaking (yet) and the drivers seat frame welds are broken. I have also noticed a leak that seems to be coming from the front axle dripping on the inside of the right front tire that I need to find out how to fix.

Just for reference, the only options it has is power mirrors and A/C. And it's also an automatic.

Thanks in advance to those that respond. I can't wait to take my Jeep off road!

In 99 they changed the head design so you'll need to do some searching on the head casting numbers to look out for, you may/may not have the problem head. You should stick with the OEM section for all your maintenence advice, there's plenty of it there. I will tell you and I'm sure other guys will chime in on it too, you should go over the vehicle and do a complete tune up from bumper to bumper. Most of all have fun with that XJ that the most important part!! Welcome

P.S. another great investment is to become a member to the board, help support the orgonization.

Welcome to the world of the XJ, and more specifically, the much admired world of the inspired '99 XJ. Ahem.

I'd have the axle leak checked right away as it sounds more like a brake line leak than anything. If you're leaking on your tire, it is probably not your front diff, as most of those leak anyway. Check your brake fluid level first (under the hood).