• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

muffler question?

wildcar

NAXJA Forum User
So I got a flow master for xmas from my mother inlaw and the shop sent her the wrong one. She ordered a 2 1/2 inlet/outlet 40 series and they sent her a 3 inch inlet and dual 2 1/2 outlet. I was just thinking about running two down turns from the muffler, or capping off one of the outlets and running a tail pipe. What i'm am worried about is the 3 inch inlet. Will it effect the performance and sound of the exhaust.
She is gonna call the shop and see if they will send us the right one but if not I have to figure out what to do with this one. Thanks for the help

You can just get the shop to weld you on a piece that will start out at 2.5 and flare out to 3" but not sure about the dual outlet, i might would just send it back and get the 2.5 Inlet and outlet.

personally, I would just send it back and get the right one rather then try and make that one work. I tried to adapt a Borla muffler onto my XJ..it was more of a PITA then anything and still was not worth the effort. Do it right the first time and dont look back. My $.02

I don't see a problem with the dual outlet, what i'm worried about is making a pipe flared out to 3 inces will make it sound shitty. The reason most hondas with generic mufflers sound like ass, running factory 2 inch pipe and then using a 4 inch muffler for that distinct honda fart.

Prob wouldn't affect the sound/performance notably... I would send it back and get the right one you ordered though. Let them deal with their f*** up not you.

Why would you be okay with that. If I saw that kind of stuff under my jeep, I'd tear it out right away because of the micky mouse bs factor. Get the right one.