• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How hard is it to install a new stereo?

jazclrint

NAXJA Forum User
I have checked the archives but it all concerns wiring and that is not what concerns me as I have some knowledge there. What I want to know is how much of a PITA is to get the older stereo out? I have a '95 XJ, and I hate taking panels off. (A quick check shows the '93s are a PITA. Are the '95s the same?)

Also, I have never really had decent radio reception, ever. The scan feature almost never stops, even if there are stations that will pick up without much static. I thought it was the antenna or radio, but I had an AM/FM/CD walkman in it one day that normally gets pretty good reception, but it got the same thing the car stereo did while I was driving down the road. It was a long time ago I did this and I don't remember if I checked the reception with the XJ off. Any ideas? And I did check the archives.

TIA,
Rich

Last edited:
Real easy. . . simple swap. It gets tougher working with a '97+.
You can either hardwire your new stereo to the wires in the dash (by splicing corresponding wires together), or buy an overpriced adapter. WEither way works, but buying the adapter makes installation a breeze.

Kyle Horvath said:
Real easy. . . simple swap. It gets tougher working with a '97+.
You can either hardwire your new stereo to the wires in the dash (by splicing corresponding wires together), or buy an overpriced adapter. WEither way works, but buying the adapter makes installation a breeze.

the adapters aren't that expensive.

if you can see in color, and do a little wiring, its pretty easy.

really hard dont do it. My brother died in an explosion while doin this process

jazclrint said: