• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help! Trying to bypass NSS

Stormwalker

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, I'll just take this from the beginning since I'm NOT a mechanic.

The wife has a 93 Country, and when she tried to start it this morning it wouldn't start. I jumped in and it wouldn't start, so I pushed the shifter (auto) forward a couple of times and it started right up. I figure this is due to a bad NSS, as the truck hasn't had reliable reverse lights either for a while. She stopped at a gas station on her way to work, and sure enough it wouldn't start again. I went there and I couldn't get it started either, no matter how much I played with the shifter in park/neutral. So I towed it home. I figured I would simply bypass the NSS until this weekend when I have time to take it off and clean it or buy a new one when I wreck it taking it off.

However, the bypass did not work. This is what I did:

post-32-1176828253.jpg

Pretty much exactly like that, except I used longer wires to have the toggle switch inside the truck (it is single digit temps in the morning after all). What happens is when the switch is in the normal position, it simply acts the way it did before, no crank. When I switch it, it clicks LOUDLY but no crank.

Just in case the starter (which I replaced about 1 1/2 years ago) decided to stop working at the exact same time the NSS stopped working, I tapped the starter a few times, and still no go.

Did I troubleshoot this thing incorrectly? Any ideas? Thanks for any input.