• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

AX15 ticking when unloaded

mikejwil

NAXJA Forum User
So... I'm new to the 5sp XJ world, and am not sure if this noise is normal. The transmission shifts fine, clutch action seems ok...no chatter, goes thru the gears smoothly. I have noticed a ticking sound when there is no load on the driveline (i.e. when clutch pedal depressed, or when tranny is neutral with clutch pedal released). The ticking increases with engine RPM. Definitely coming from the tranny. Anything I need to worry about?

Here's what I have: 99 XJ Sport 4x4, 4.0L, AX15, NP231, D30, C8.25

Thanks.

Well, i have the same question, 93 4.0 ax-15. I have the same bit of a ticking, if that makes you feel any better your not alone. Mine does seem to stop a bit if the clutch is depressed vs. being in netraul, but still, both times it does it. I have just ignored it thus far, but since you posted, well, i guess my question will be answered too. My friend went to school for auto mechanics and said it was fine, so I just put it to the back of my head, but it would be nice to hear that its normal from someone on here as well... or have someone diagnose the problem so i can laugh at my friend...

Sounds promising. I'm hoping that its normal. Just a bit paranoid about my new ride. Picked it up used with 95K on it. Will be changing the gear oil in a couple of weeks (picked up the Mopar 75W90 GL-3 yesterday). The last manual tranny I had was a 90 Nissan Sentra, and it had a ticking sound, but only when in neutral without the clutch depressed. Never a problem with it. I think the guy I sold it to has over 225K on it now.