• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New Front Axle

JNickel101

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm stuck with the dreaded LP D30 up front....

I've been debating on getting a HP D30 housing...re-gearing to 4.56, getting a Warn hub kit....doing the Teraflex High-steer setup with a drivers side tie rod flip, plus a new JKS style trackbar mount.

First...am I missing anything there...?

Second....should I just say screw it and go with a D44 front...? I have no welding skills at all (I know, mortal sin), so I'm still gonna end up doing a lot of work with that....

So then I thought...what would a complete Currie D44 setup cost...well, turns out they don't do HP D44s....only HP 9".

I'm thinking the 9" would be overkill for 33s....

Thoughts, opinions....

How much lift are we talking?Ive been running 6" on a LP D30 for 7+ years.

Just put rockwells under it and be done with it...

With zippo welding skills I'd say stick to bolt on stuff. You should go to 4.56, Warn Hubs, WJ knuckles, brakes, and beefy up your steering. Done.

JNickel101 said:
So I'm stuck with the dreaded LP D30 up front....

I've been debating on getting a HP D30 housing...re-gearing to 4.56, getting a Warn hub kit....doing the Teraflex High-steer setup with a drivers side tie rod flip, plus a new JKS style trackbar mount.

First...am I missing anything there...?

Second....should I just say screw it and go with a D44 front...? I have no welding skills at all (I know, mortal sin), so I'm still gonna end up doing a lot of work with that....

So then I thought...what would a complete Currie D44 setup cost...well, turns out they don't do HP D44s....only HP 9".

I'm thinking the 9" would be overkill for 33s....

Thoughts, opinions....