• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dash and tail light out I need help

tgregg

NAXJA Member #1444
Anybody know wiring? My dash lights kept blowing the fuse every time I replaced it and turned on the head lights. In the process of trying to trouble shoot that problem I must have blown something else because now I don't even have power to the hot side of the fuse. I noticed yesterday I also don't have tail running lights.
I am not good with wiring, can you give me some pointers in where to check? Everything else seems to be working. Is there another master fuse up line from the #17 that controls the dash and apparently the tail lights?

What is that and where do I find it? I am an electrical novice.
Thanks for the suggestion. I see another post suggesting a similar problem stems from the headlight switch....I am so glad I'm not the only one with this problem. Dash lights I can live without but I drove all the way to the lake Sat morning with the flashers flashing so no one would ram me in the dark!! I need to fix this.

look into the pdc(power distribution center) under the hood on the pass side.
sounds like you have a short in the taillight/dash light/headlight circuit because you kept blowing that fuse...

you could try a headlight switch....they are only like $12

Thanks, I looked in the fuse box thing under the hood for anything blown but I'll pull every one today and check for continuity. Right now I'm just trying to get the power back to the fuse. Once I do that I'll swap out the switch. This deal is weird because when I stopped turning on the lights last (before dayligh savings, I don't drive it at night) everything was fine. Then the first dark morning POW!
No dash lights. Very strange.
It sounds from feedback that the switch is an XJ trouble spot.