• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Quick survey about welding a rearend.....

Atownatheist

NAXJA Forum User
So here i am a poor college student, with a basic offroad jeep. I enjoy doin some of the stuff up around mt baker, and some runs on walkervalley, runnin 31's now (lookin for a set of 33's also :D) on stock axles and a homebrew 4-4.5 inch lift.

so im looking at some options for me rear axle (and that one only) and im wondering, should i keep the axle (its a 91 XJ sport with manny tranny), wait the year or so til i get the money for a locker, or just weld the rear end. A few of my buddies have welded, and they dont seem to be expienceing many issues (save the ocasional chirp and lunge around tight concrete coners, which is to be expected), so this seems to be my choice atm, but im wonderin others opinions. SO ifanyone out there could give me there choice, and a few reasons why i should do it that way; thatd be amaze-a-zing.

oh and i should mention that i dont do to much driving cuz im in college, and friends and public transportation make up most of my means of travel.

like i said any info is good info. :D

-thanks

Here's my feeling on it from having done it myself. On trails, its fine, obviously, but on the road it sucks. Lets face it, whether you're driving to and from the trail or a quick run out to the store you still probably put more miles on road than off road unless you're actually trailering it. I decided to go weld the rear in my last build and I hated every second of it. I rarely drove it on road because I live downtown Portland and I walk and take the MAX everywhere but if I did drive it it wasn't fun, a little wet pavement and that rear end lets lose everytime you turn.