• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

89 brake question

bcmaxx

NAXJA Forum User
I have an 89 xj had brand new everything except brake steel brake lines and I could never get the rear brakes to lock up, now I swapped in a 8.8 ford, the pedal feels firmer but the rear brakes still don't and won't lock up. Normal for a single diaphram?

will a dual diaphram help or just need bigger brakes??? anything simply bolt on the front off anything else??

I have a rear dana 44 with stock drum brakes.

I have a WJ master and booster, and a stock XJ prop valve.

I can lock up my rear 35" tires at 75 mph and keep them locked hard until they go flat.

With the stock single diaphram master and booster I had to use both feet and downshift to stop at red lights.

bcmaxx said:
I have an 89 xj had brand new everything except brake steel brake lines and I could never get the rear brakes to lock up, now I swapped in a 8.8 ford, the pedal feels firmer but the rear brakes still don't and won't lock up. Normal for a single diaphram?
the answer to the question you should asking is " get a smaller smurfpee bottle/pump" that's all i needed to do in my 89 to make the wj booster work besides the normal stuff with brakelight switch and plumbing adapters. you know it's the right thing to do. just go ahead and do it.

or a booster and master from a 1999-2004 grand cherokee

i did the swap on my 89 and the brakes are great. i have 31's and can stop on a dime.

cumorglas said: