• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Noob here, please hate me.

obsolete

NAXJA Forum User
Hello all. I just bought a Cherokee and a friend of mine on another car forum pointed me in this direction. I’m a noob here but not a noob to forums or spinning wrenches. With that said I am going to commit the worst noob crime known to man: ignore the search function. Now wait, please put the torches and pitch forks down for a moment and let me explain. I bought a black 99 Cherokee Sport on Monday. It’s a 4.0, 8.25 rear with 110K on the clock. I plan is to do a full tune up Saturday after work or Sunday morning. This is the first Jeep I’ve owned and have no clue on fluid types and quantity. Because of my retarded schedule I have no time to look all the information I need up. I work 50 hours a week and take 15 credit hours at school. So between work, school and homework I have to schedule when I take a shit and bang the ole’ lady. I would greatly appreciate any of the info I need so I can hit NAPA after I get out of work on Saturday and get cracking. Here’s what I need:

Oil weight and quantity. I use Synth in everything I own so any recommendations would be great. It’ll probably be Mobil 1.

Coolant type and quantity.

Spark plug gap. I usually don’t get expensive plugs; NGK’s is what I usually use. But has anyone had any luck with the 4.0 and other plugs.

Brake fluid type. Does it use 4 or 3 like everything else?

ATF quantity and recomendations.

Transfer case oil type, quantity and recomendations. If anyone has a write up on draining it that would be great. Never done one.

Front and rear end oil weight, quantity and recomendations.

Timing advance. Is it adjustable like a normal distributer or is it computer controlled.

TPS voltage for adjustment.