PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Control Hmmm.....


CrawlingCritter
October 15th, 2007, 18:06
Sorry I'm new at this and posted in the wrong forum. Take Two:
I have a 90 XJ with a dead cruise control. I just bought the Cherokee this July and have been slowly going through it getting the ride ready for hunting season. The cruise was DOA when I bought the Jeep. At first I found corroded connections at the servo on the fire wall and thought AHA! an easy fix. Still Dead. So I checked vacuum lines and I seam to have plenty of vacumm. I checked both vacuum and electric switches under the steering wheel and everything seemed okay. I think the vacuum line to the release under the steering wheel (actuated when you hit the brakes) goes to the servo on the firewall. I disconnected this line and plugged the servo and test drove the jeep. Cruise Still Dead. The smaller line on the servo has vacuum. I don't know how to test or check the yellow box under the dash. Any body had similar experience with a dead cruise control?

h2opete987
October 15th, 2007, 19:03
my old 91 had intermittant cruise until one day it died. just before I was done driving it, i noticed that there were 3 broken wires on the cruise stalk. it seems as though the wires leave the rotating art of the stalk and then jump back in. should be red, blue, and yellow wires on the backside. HTH

TheAlmightySam
October 15th, 2007, 20:30
Mine had dead cruise when I got it, which turned out to be a compound failure. The brake switch wasn't sending the right values to the cruise controller, and the wiring in the turn signal stalk was going bad. Replaced both, and it works lovely.

jneary
October 16th, 2007, 14:39
could be a bad cruise stalk and the earlier jeeps had problems with the wires breaking at the brake lamp switch

dutchjeep
October 17th, 2007, 11:32
Mine was the break light switch on the pedal. Mine's a '92 but if the set-up is the same then that switch failing should also prevent your torque converter from coming in (which you can easily check). If TC works it's probably not the switch.

Good luck.