• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how to add extra inch or two to a RE 4.5" lift

vtechthis

NAXJA Forum User
Ive got a 98 XJ with a RE 4.5 lift i want to go an inch or two bigger any suggestions on how to go about doing this? I know its a dumb question but im new to the whole 4x4 scene used to be into sports cars.

poly spacers up front (or an ACOS) and an extended/boomerang shackle in the rear....

First off, why do you want to go bigger?

Anything over 4.5" and your going to want to get some Long arms or drop brackets up front.

In front you can use a poly spacer or ACOS...as mentioned.

IIRC the RE kit comes with 3.5" springs and a shackle. If you happen to have a stock shackle, your best bet would be to get a lift shackle. Otherwise your looking at new spring packs, or adding to yours (not AAL) using packs from a SUA application.

Whatever you do, don't use blocks!

Oh, and you should really search first!!!1

I forgot to mention that i have 2" poly spacers up front and the rubicon spring pack in rear. I dont have any vibes right now with a 1" transfercase drop but i plan on doing an SYE. Im guessing ill need lift shackles and taller springs in front. Whatelse do i need? Also i have some play in the front end nothing major but it doesnt seem to be due to bad ball joints or TRE. steering box?

beatassXJ said:
TRAILREADYXJ, Why do you say no blocks?

Blocks are well known to promote axle wrap, they can also break or spit out while wheeling. They will also wear your springs much faster because they act like a lever when the axle torques, this makes your springs a lovely "S" shape. Basically look at it this way, when you hit the gas, the tires spin forward, but the axle wants to spin the other way. The less resistance to twisting, the more wrap you will have.